*
viva video

Viva Video XL

We’re already up to episode number nine in our renewed media based feature, and that puts us close to the fifty mark should we ever rediscover the content we lost to Sky’s whim. As I treated you all to a special midweek edition in the run-up to the Tottenham game I’ve decided to give this Friday’s slot over to our visitors for the weekend, and also my favourite other professional club; Cardiff City.

Yep, its confession time folks, before I was a regular Rovers attendee I used to make occasional trips to follow South Wales’ finest on their jaunts up north. As avid fans know I am of Welsh stock and so when the family made trips to Cardiff when I was younger my dad and I would usually sneak off to watch games at Ninian Park. My first City match was a 4-0 Welsh Cup win over Maesteg Park and strangely enough that encouraged me to follow City from afar. As such I in the mid to late 90s I saw Cardiff, in arguably their worst period in history, play at Rotherham, Scunthorpe, Scarborough and Hull amongst others. A more significant embrace of my home town club put a stop to this, but I still keep a keen eye out from a far, a small piece of my heart forever taken by an Andy Saville hat-trick at a snowy late winter Glanford Park.

Like Preston a few weeks back Cardiff City also benefit from a significant presence in online videos, and should you wade through the inevitable Soul Crew banalities there are some great clips to be found. Whilst Cardiff may have not troubled the top flight much in the past fifty years, their involvement in the Welsh Cup often led to lucrative ventures into Europe all the same.

One of the Bluebirds most significant continental campaigns came courtesy of the 1970-71 European Cup Winners Cup. Having seen off Cypriot side Pezoporikos Larnaca 8-0 on aggregate in the first round Cardiff notched the impressive scalp of a 7-2 aggregate win over French side FC Nantes Atlantique to set up a quarter final tie against Real Madrid. The Spanish giants would eventually triumph in the Bernabeu, but not before they had been humbled 1-0 at Ninian Park by this Brian Clark goal.

About glen wilson

Former schoolboy, Glen Wilson writes on football and travel and has been editor of the award-winning popular STAND fanzine since before the award.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Viva Archives

Viva Categories

FURTHER READING…

If you've enjoyed Viva Rovers then the chances are you will also enjoy one of the many fine websites linked below...

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

